A way to receive 4 cameras

General discussion about Blue Iris
Craigst
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:26 pm

A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by Craigst » Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:31 pm

I really want a way to receive 4 cameras from my parents house to record on my blur iris server but they dont have the best internet connection , i currently have each cam port forwarded but its not very good is there any way to have a program ? zoneminder local at the house and receive all cameras on different channels they are all ip cams / 1 ptz im hoping a program to compress the image or something open to options

thanks

HeneryH
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by HeneryH » Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:24 pm

That solution will be troublesome in many regards.

Why not just get a cheap BI computer for your parents house. A 4-cam system would only need an extremely cheap computer.

User avatar
reddawg
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:29 am

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by reddawg » Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:35 am

Craigst wrote:
Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:31 pm
I really want a way to receive 4 cameras from my parents house to record on my blur iris server but they dont have the best internet connection , i currently have each cam port forwarded but its not very good is there any way to have a program ? zoneminder local at the house and receive all cameras on different channels they are all ip cams / 1 ptz im hoping a program to compress the image or something open to options
In general, it's a bad idea to record multiple cameras to a remote server especially over a poor internet connection. The two biggest pitfalls are reliability and bandwidth. Most ISP's impose monthly bandwidth cap limits so recording video from multiple cameras to a remote location over the internet will either get you dropped as a customer or forced to pay high overage fees.

As HenryH suggested, I would buy a cheap Blue Iris computer for your parents house. You can connect remotely using Blue Iris mobile clients, web browser or a remote control agent like RDP or Teamviewer. I would recommend buying a refurbished "HP EliteDesk 800 G1 Intel Core i5-4590 / i5-4570" or "Dell Optiplex 3020 Intel Core i5-4590 / i5-4570" from eBay. You can find deals as low as $139 - $159. Stick with PC's with 8GB of memory and the Professional edition of Windows 10. In regards to Windows 10, the Professional edition allows you to defer "Feature Upgrades" for up to 365 days. The Home edition does not.

HP EliteDesK 800 G1 MT Desktop PC i5 4590 3.30GHz 8GB 500GB HDD Win 10 Pro (eBay) $135.00 free shipping
https://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-EliteDesK-8 ... Swm~1dl7aW

If you buy this computer, remove the NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS card and use the embedded Intel HD 4600 Graphics GPU in the PC as it supports Intel Quick Sync hardware acceleration. The NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS card does not support video encode and decode so it will offer no benefit to Blue Iris. See NVIDIA video encode and decode support list: https://developer.nvidia.com/video-enco ... ix#Decoder

User avatar
TimG
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by TimG » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:54 pm

Yes, I agree. With two BI5 licences, you can then view your parents BI5 installation from your home BI5 installation if I understand it correctly, and the remote pc will ensure you record all the video you are after.

Has anybody tried the BI5 remote viewing ?

I do use Splashtop to view remote computers, so that would be another way if you don't have two BI5 licences.
Blue Iris v5.0.5.9 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | FX-8350 AMD CPU, 32GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD| Homeseer HS3 Pro | TVMosaic | Emby | DVBViewer |

HeneryH
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by HeneryH » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:45 pm

I use the BI web interface for 99% of everything I do on my remote computer once it is initially set up and running in steady state. For that small 1% where the web UI won't work I just use TeamViewer remote desktop.

User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by Thixotropic » Wed Oct 23, 2019 3:54 am

HeneryH wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:45 pm
I use the BI web interface for 99% of everything I do on my remote computer once it is initially set up and running in steady state.
Does that require two licenses or just one? I want to (eventually) put my BI setup on the web so I can view the cameras remotely, but I'm not quite there yet. Am I going to need to setup some sort of VPN or port forwarding to do remote viewing?

MikeBwca
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by MikeBwca » Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:12 am

As I understand it, it would require 2 licenses.

HeneryH
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by HeneryH » Sat Oct 26, 2019 7:48 pm

Am I going to need to setup some sort of VPN or port forwarding to do remote viewing?
yes
Does that require two licenses or just one?
Yes, each server instance needs a license but I have been told that if you call customer service they will sell you a second license at a discount.

User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by Thixotropic » Sun Oct 27, 2019 2:28 am

HeneryH wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 7:48 pm
Yes, each server instance needs a license but I have been told that if you call customer service they will sell you a second license at a discount.
I don't want the 2nd PC to be a BI server, I just want to be able to view the cameras through a browser from wherever I am. Does BI provide anything like that?

User avatar
TimG
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: A way to receive 4 cameras

Post by TimG » Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:58 am

Thixotropic: Is that post connected to this thread ? If it is, then the OP could use Splashtop or Teamviewer.
Blue Iris v5.0.5.9 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | FX-8350 AMD CPU, 32GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD| Homeseer HS3 Pro | TVMosaic | Emby | DVBViewer |

Post Reply