Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post Reply
numbbrrr
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 2:43 am

Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post by numbbrrr » Mon Mar 08, 2021 2:07 am

I have an old i5 CPU desktop that I've been using for years with BI. The Western Digital blue drive has been spinning non stop for 4 years now. I'd like to configure motion detection. I'm using an Amcrest IP cam and a SCW warehouse cam. BOTH of these cams I can log into via their IP. Both I can confgure motion detection settings there. However BI has places to configure motion detection too. Can I just configure BI and treat it like the MASTER settings and not touch or even enable motion detection in the actual camera GUI? Thanks in advance.
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post by TimG » Tue Mar 09, 2021 5:21 pm

Hi numbbrrr,

All BI5 needs is the video. It can't do much with most of the manufacturer specific detection. If you want BI to record when motion is detected, then you will be setting this up in BI.
BI5 v54711 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
Matts1984
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post by Matts1984 » Tue Mar 09, 2021 6:05 pm

Yeah the way I would recommend is to config the cam stream on the cameras themselves (you cannot set these properties in BI, it just reports what its getting). Settings like FPS, keyframes, compression methods, etc are done here. I believe you CAN use the built in camera detection capabilities but I've never explored that. I like having the single point of configuration, on BI, with it's properties and settings. I've tweaked plenty, but never been disappointed.
Blue Iris 5.4.8.x | Server 2019 VM | Xeon X5650 @ 2.67GHz - 12 Cores | 12GB RAM | 7TB RAID | Sophos UTM WAF | 3x SV3C 5MP Bullet A | 2x SV3C 3MP Bullet A | 1x SV3C 5MP Bullet HX | 1x SV3C 5MP Dome HX | 2x Amcrest 5MP Bullet
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post by TimG » Fri Mar 12, 2021 6:51 pm

Todays webinar showed how some Onvif cameras can do their own motion detection and report it to BI5. Basically:

1. Camera settings/Video/Configure.
2. Tick "Get Onvif trigger events".
3. Trigger menu/ tick "Camera's digital input or motion alarm.".

I haven't tried this so cannot help much, but this could take some load off of the cpu on multi-camera systems. Some experimentation required, as each camera is different.
BI5 v54711 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
User avatar
cayossarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 6:08 pm

Re: Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post by cayossarian » Thu May 06, 2021 8:00 pm

In my experience, even with new cameras, the BI motion detection is superior, especially when coupled with AI to eliminate false alerts from shadows, leaves, etc. At one point I tried using motion detection on the edge in some new Hikvision cameras touting AI for human/vehicle but Onvif alerts never made it to BI. What I ended up with was camera recording to local storage and BI recording to central database, fine but not ideal. Onvif is a bit of a loose standard so while BI can pull streams the other integration like alerts is hit and miss. Your milaege may vary.
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post by TimG » Fri May 07, 2021 5:14 am

Yes, I have been running my normal BI5 using BI5 motion detection against a second BI5 using only Onvif triggers. Both have the same Dahua camera. Even without Deepstack I think BI5 has been doing a better job. Now I just need to find out how to stop DS giving me a black screen on the server...
BI5 v54711 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
IAmATeaf
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:48 pm

Re: Config cams in BI or cams at their GUI or BOTH?

Post by IAmATeaf » Fri May 07, 2021 7:10 pm

I use ONVIF triggers on all my cams, some setup with intrusion zones others with intrusion zones and car and person recognition and I’ve never had any issues.

The only motion detection I use is for clones cams that record on any motion which I’ve setup in BI.
Post Reply