Test Run Video Through Motion Detector not triggering

Post Reply
bob2000
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:09 pm

Test Run Video Through Motion Detector not triggering

Post by bob2000 » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:20 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to fine tune my motion triggered events. However when i activate "test run video through motion detector" and run some of the captured event clips, motion detection is not triggered !

These are all without changing the settings.

How can this be and what am i doing wrong?

thanks for any help.

MikeBwca
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Test Run Video Through Motion Detector not triggering

Post by MikeBwca » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:17 am

You'll need to start playing the video about 10 seconds before the event to trigger.

If your recording Continuous, then all you need to do is play the clip, stop, go back 10 seconds, then play. Or increasing the 'Pre trigger video buffer' to 12-15 seconds will make it as easy as just playing the clip.

If your recording 'When Triggered', most likely you do not have a 'Pre-trigger video buffer' of 12-15 seconds.
In this Case, do one of the following...
- temporarily change pre-buffer to 12-15 seconds, get a bunch of videos, then play them and you'll have the amount of video needed.
- temporarily change to 'Continuous' recording so that you can advance the video back. My opinion is it's easier to change the 'pre-trigger video buffer'.

TheLAD
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:28 pm

Re: Test Run Video Through Motion Detector not triggering

Post by TheLAD » Sun Jun 28, 2020 8:30 pm

I was having trouble getting a trigger for my first attempt at motion from one zone to the next. One of the rules that I don't think is written down: the zones cannot overlap. Whether they are overlapping is not easy to see on my configuration screen as the color used to show the zones is too close to the mask zone.

MikeBwca
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Test Run Video Through Motion Detector not triggering

Post by MikeBwca » Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:17 am

I agree.

One method if to leave a small gap between zones. Then, use another zone to 'connect' all the trigger zones. The 'connect' zone cane be toggled to make it easier to see the trigger zones.

The 'connect' zone is not used in any cross-zone.

Post Reply