Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post Reply
varghesesa
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:52 pm

Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post by varghesesa » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:02 pm

My R2C Foscam camera (https://www.foscam.com/R2C.html) was running very slowly yesterday. I did a restart of the camera and the camera kept saying "foscam ready for WiFi configuration". Never did that before. After searching the internet, came to this page (https://www.foscam.com/faqs/view.html?id=100) which guided me on how to download the mobile app and connect my camera to my home wifi. I can now see the video from foscam's phone app.

However, BI cannot connect to it like it could in the past. Seems like Foscam closed their cameras to third parties similar to D-Link.

Anyone experience same results or know how to reconnect foscam to BI?

-- Sam

MikeBwca
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post by MikeBwca » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:53 pm

However, BI cannot connect to it like it could in the past. Seems like Foscam closed their cameras to third parties similar to D-Link.
:shock: say - what! :o If they did, it's the end of Foscam. Let's hope not.

User avatar
JLG
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:14 am

Re: Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post by JLG » Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:20 am

My two R2's are still working as expected. So, Foscam HQ could "tweak" a camera that is already up & running? Is that even a concept?

User avatar
TimG
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post by TimG » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:45 pm

Mine is working OK today, but I wonder if yours has rebooted and had its firmware updated ? I don't want to reboot mine now :shock:

I do have mine hard wired to the server though, as the wifi kept dropping the camera out.
Blue Iris v5.0.4.8 | Dahua 5231, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | FX-8350 AMD CPU, 32GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD| Homeseer HS3 Pro | TVMosaic | Emby | DVBViewer |

User avatar
JLG
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:14 am

Re: Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post by JLG » Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:28 pm

I know I rebooted at least one of my R2's within the last week; both are working fine. I assumed any FW updates were only manual, but maybe not? (I didn't check the logs). But, I may not update them until I research the FW some more; good point.

MikeBwca
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post by MikeBwca » Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:40 am

JLG wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:20 am
My two R2's are still working as expected. So, Foscam HQ could "tweak" a camera that is already up & running? Is that even a concept?
Not unless it's a firmware upgrade. The upgrade docs sometimes says that it cannot be backed out! In that case, I upgrade one of my cams and let it run for a week or so before upgrading firmware on the other 5 (9826P v2).

varghesesa
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:52 pm

Re: Foscam R2 Cameras - walled garden

Post by varghesesa » Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:50 pm

Interesting. My camera is actually an R2C. I think "C" stands for cloud, so maybe only those versions are affected. Everything changed after the reboot.

-- Sam

Post Reply