Diagnosing Computer Crashes

DougLorenz

Diagnosing Computer Crashes

Post by DougLorenz »

Hi, I've been using Blue Iris for a few months now, and it has been working great with one problem... Every few days the computer it is running on just stops working, completely freezing up and requiring that the computer be powered off and back on again. Obviously, this stops the recording and renders the whole system useless until I notice the problem and restart the computer.

The computer is a HP ProDesk with an Intel Core I5-8500T, 16GB of RAM, and a 500GB Samsung 970 EVO NVME drive. I only have 3 cameras at the moment, so the computer is handling the load fine. The system consists of a fresh install of Windows 10 and Blue Iris with nothing else installed.

Trying to figure out my next step. Is there some diagnostic software that I can be running to identify the root cause of the crashes? Additionally, is there some piece of hardware that can power cycle the computer if it goes dark for more than 5 minutes or so?

Doug
Matts1984

Re: Diagnosing Computer Crashes

Post by Matts1984 »

I'm guessing we're talking about a full computer lockup - not BSOD, but the next closest thing - and only a hard power cycle helps.

I'd look at System logs. My gut says this is a driver though.

As for a hardware system that would power cycle... not that I'm aware of as an out-of-the-box system. You might be able to set up some sort of network based monitor to find when a particular service/port stops responding and then and then has the ability to control a smart plug - but you're probably looking at some custom coding or like a RaspberryPi like project.
Blue Iris 5.8.8.x | Server 2022 VM | Xeon X5650 @ 2.67GHz - 12 Cores | 12GB RAM | 7TB RAID | Sophos UTM WAF | 4x SV3C 5MP Bullet A | 1x SV3C 5MP PTZ HX | 1x SV3C 5MP Bullet HX | 1x SV3C 5MP Dome HX | 2x Amcrest 5MP Bullet
DougLorenz

Post by DougLorenz »