BI Using near 100% cpu

General discussion about Blue Iris
Post Reply
aviondubzz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2020 9:24 pm

BI Using near 100% cpu

Post by aviondubzz » Wed Oct 07, 2020 6:48 pm

I have just purchased a dedicated pc just for blueiris and recording. I have only added 3 cameras so far and everything is lagging and it says 99% CPU usage. I believe my pc should be more than capable of handling the tasks.
pc.PNG
pc.PNG (8.88 KiB) Viewed 856 times
Matts1984
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Post by Matts1984 » Thu Oct 08, 2020 2:04 pm

Gotcha, yeah 3 cameras shouldn't be hitting it that hard. But there are TONS of settings that can make a big difference. Are the cameras set to do Direct to Disk recording?

Also, can you share a screenshot of your BI "Status-> Cameras" tab? The whole thing including the totals at the bottom (you can obscure IPs if you like but they're probably internal addresses that mean nothing).
User avatar
LyndMc
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 1:12 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Post by LyndMc » Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:24 pm

If you do a Google search for optimize blue iris, there’s a post that suggests setting changes. One I remember had to do with “direct to disc”, deleting overlays in the cameras themselves helps too. There was also something else about encryption. I followed the settings that were recommended and it helped my 3 camera system.
Matts1984
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Post by Matts1984 » Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:03 pm

Yup! I believe this https://ipcamtalk.com/wiki/optimizing-b ... cpu-usage/ is the one you're referring to. I've made gains following it as well. Just be sure not to make a post arguing it or contradicting the moderator :lol:

But really, if you have any other questions about any of this, we're here to help. I'm currently at 4 cameras (with one more in a box waiting) with an older CPU - though more cores - but it cruises under 10% CPU almost all the time.
IAmATeaf
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:48 pm

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Post by IAmATeaf » Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:48 pm

You need to post more info before people can help. So what cams are you running, are you using substreams, what frame rate, the bitrate, encoding used ....

Does your PC have an SSD? And me personally I’d run BI with a min of 12Gb of RAM, I’ve seen other posts where 8Gb hasn’t been enough.
shiggins9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:49 pm

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Post by shiggins9 » Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:04 pm

aviondubzz wrote:
Wed Oct 07, 2020 6:48 pm
I have just purchased a dedicated pc just for blueiris and recording. I have only added 3 cameras so far and everything is lagging and it says 99% CPU usage. I believe my pc should be more than capable of handling the tasks.

pc.PNG
Op, did you ever solve your issue? I have been working on a solution and may be on to something.
shiggins9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:49 pm

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Post by shiggins9 » Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:45 pm

Well op, hopefully you resolved your issue. But in case this is a zombie thread, this is the solution that worked for me.

Solution:
-Limit decoding unless required-OFF on all cameras
-Hardware Acceleration-OFF on all cameras
Post Reply