H.265 within camera

Post Reply
hx19035
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:00 pm

H.265 within camera

Post by hx19035 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:23 pm

Hi guys,
Finally getting the hang of this BI thing. So many options!

Question: I'm using 10 laview LV-PZ804N4 cameras. The picture quality is good enough for me. When I log into the cameras I notice there's an option to encode to h.265. Should I enable that? Everything I'm seeing and reading is that it's a far more efficient codec. So I'm wondering if the camera will legitimately encode streams to h.265 or if I should just leave it set to h.264 and let BI do the rest.

Thanks,
Chris
Raccoontodd
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 7:00 pm

Re: H.265 within camera

Post by Raccoontodd » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:40 am

I have mine set to h265. uses less bandwidth. Picture quality is the same as 264 just more efficient.
HeneryH
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: H.265 within camera

Post by HeneryH » Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:24 pm

BUT... you can't use Intel Hardware Acceleration.

I do use H265 to save disk space but I have plenty of headroom on my CPU utilization.

If your CPU is struggling and you have plenty of disk space you may want to make the tradeoff in the other direction and use H264 to save CPU cycles at the expense of disk.
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 617
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: H.265 within camera

Post by TimG » Sat Jan 18, 2020 11:04 am

Exactly as HeneryH said,

My BI5 server is also the media server, so it can have the cpu loaded quite high by other programs (i.e recording multiple HD channels), but I have a lot of hard drive space. For that reason, I have my cameras set to H264.

I did try h265, but the increase in BI5 cpu usage was immediately visible :shock:
Blue Iris v5.3.1.5 | Win10 x64 version 2004 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | Intel i5-3330 CPU, 8GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD | TVMosaic.
HeneryH
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: H.265 within camera

Post by HeneryH » Sat Jan 18, 2020 8:48 pm

Tim and I are good reasons there is no one right answer. He has plenty of disk but needs CPU. I have plenty of CPU but need disk.

Neither is right or wrong, you need to pick what works for you.
Post Reply