Fine tune motion/alert/record settings on already captured video

Post Reply
PICam
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:11 am

Fine tune motion/alert/record settings on already captured video

Post by PICam » Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:31 am

Hi,

Is it possible to try different motion detection settings on an already recorded video?

Currently I have to make some adjustments and then Wait for live video to see if the adjustments work as I would like to. This is very time consuming.

Why can't I just replay that footage over and over again while making adjustments and seeing how the new settings work? That would be so simple.

No more spending hours and days to get the best motion/alert settings. No more waiting till it rains or till the burglar breaks in to readjust all those settings.
Just replay any footage, adjust motion/make time/pre record buffer/zones etc etc and see immediately what would be recorded and then save these fine-tuned settings to the live camera.

If this is already possible please let me know how to do this?

Thanks!

MikeBwca
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Fine tune motion/alert/record settings on already captured video

Post by MikeBwca » Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:49 am

Yes, there is a way to do this.

1. Adjust the motion detection settings on the camera you want to change. I would suggest first exporting the cameras settings to a file name with a suffix of something like 'camera1, original'. This was you can import the original settings if the changes do not work out.
2. Open/Play the clip.
3. Right click on the video and enable 'Test run video thru motion dector'.
4. Play the video. This will run the video as if it were a live feed with the new settings.
Notes:
- You need at least 5-6 seconds lead time before the movement.
- Motion will not trigger clips or alerts.
5. Export the camera settings.

Remember to disable 'Test run video thru motion detector'.




Testing new motion detection settings can be very time consuming. The method I use occasionally...
I clone a camera 1, 2, 3, or more times, giving the clones names like 'cam1test1, cam1test2...'. Then, I set the motion detection settings in each clone to a slightly different. I let this run hours/days, then compare each clone to see which one has gotten all/most of the motion I want.
Yes, this uses more cpu & disk. But, only during the testing period. after which you can delete the clones files and disable/delete the clones.
Keep the good clone. Then either export that & import into the normal camera. Or, delete the others, and rename to the normal camera.
I've done this several times. Once I cloned a camera around 6 times with different settings. It was a time saver.

PICam
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Fine tune motion/alert/record settings on already captured video

Post by PICam » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:49 pm

Thanks for the helpful information MikeBwca!
I did not know that feature exists. I would expect a button in the camera motion/alert settings to take you to the simulation routine,..and not an option while viewing the clip.

Thanks for the tips too!

:D

Post Reply