Not licensed after Win7 -> Win10 upgrade

General discussion about Blue Iris
Post Reply
stewart
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:19 pm

Not licensed after Win7 -> Win10 upgrade

Post by stewart » Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:04 pm

I'm running BI4 (don't know the version) on a Win7 PC that we upgraded to Win10. Now it shows as needing a license key. I have several PCs with BI and don't know which key goes to which PC. How can I figure out how to activate this one again? I don't want to re-use the license from another PC to this one but if I choose the wrong one, will it cancel the activation on the other PC?

User avatar
TimG
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Not licensed after Win7 -> Win10 upgrade

Post by TimG » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:50 pm

I think it WILL cancel on the other pc. I would send a message to Support for this one.
Blue Iris v5.0.4.8 | Dahua 5231, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | FX-8350 AMD CPU, 32GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD| Homeseer HS3 Pro | TVMosaic | Emby | DVBViewer |

HeneryH
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: Not licensed after Win7 -> Win10 upgrade

Post by HeneryH » Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:30 pm

If you have the original machine still available just go to the settings page and you can see which key is installed.

I think that "BI Tools" can report out the full key too.

stewart
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:19 pm

Re: Not licensed after Win7 -> Win10 upgrade

Post by stewart » Thu Oct 10, 2019 7:11 pm

This is the original PC. I just upgraded from Win7 to Win10. I wound up having this happen on 2 machines. I went to the rest of the PCs with BI and grabbed the keys from them to and lined them up in my list. Looks like upgrading Win7 to Win10 blanks the license in the registry?

Post Reply