Break time breaks my brain... and IDK Why

General discussion about Blue Iris
st0rmcr0vv

Break time breaks my brain... and IDK Why

Post by st0rmcr0vv »

Sorry if this is the wrong category but I'm kind of at my wits end; I've been using BI for three years. I have zero idea of how to do what I want to do. People and documentation just say simply "set make time and break time" but I've played with the settings inputting even some extreme numbers but there doesn't seem to be a difference in how\when triggers\recordings happen.

- IRL example; I have dumpster divers. I want to capture footage of them arriving, getting out of the car, hopping in the dumpster, throwing bags out, making a god awful mess, loading up a few things in their car, getting in their car and their car leaving. Up until a few months ago where I tweaked a few settings I got car pulls up, 5-15 seconds of footage and then another recording of car already backing out and leaving. After tweaking settings I get zero triggers or recordings on that one camera and even after putting the settings back to match the other outdoor cameras (which still trigger and record but have always given me an anemic 5-15 seconds of footage; The dumpster camera still does nothing. So I'm starting the camera configuration from scratch.

Is "motion" ignored if it's smaller than the motion that triggered the current\previous event? i.e. a person getting out of a car wont be considered motion because the car moved more pixels? IDK, kind of seems to be what I'm running up against. The motion sensor "min object size" on the preview looks like something as small as a rodent would trigger the camera so... I'm obviously misinterpreting a setting(s) or something.