Can no longer connect cameras...

studuck

Can no longer connect cameras...

Post by studuck »

Hi

Newbie here - with not much technical knowledge.

I have inherited a BI system from a sister store. I have managed to set up two cameras on BI successfully however at this stage the PC was not connected to the 'outside world'. I plugged the PC in to my router and initially it wouldn't connect so I clicked on the Windows troubleshooter and it told me there was a DHCP issue and so I clicked 'repair'. hey presto, I now have internet access! Only problem is my cameras won't work :(

I am not sure where to go with this? I am using Foscam cameras I downloaded their IP Camera tool and that picked up both camera but under the IP address column it says 'err 2'. I can't find out what this means

Has changing the DHCP setting affected the cameras? I don't know how to roll this back and even if I could it appears as though it's now set correctly to access the internet so not sure I ant to change (ultimately I want to be able to access the cameras remotely).

Thanks in advance

Stuart
terk

Re: Can no longer connect cameras...

Post by terk »

Sounds like your subnet changed when you plugged into a different router so the cameras are no longer on the same subnet. You would need to look at the video tab settings for each camera to find out what IP they where configured for then setup a machine (other than your BI server) with a static IP in the same subnet but a different last octet so you can get to the web interface of each camera to change their static mappings to IPs in the new subnet but outside of the DHCP range so DHCP doesn't try to assign those same addresses.
TimG

Post by TimG »

I agree.

To hopefully clarify:

1. Your original router would have a fixed IP address [For example it could be 192.168.2.1].
2. Your IP cameras are likely to be set to a static IP address in the same range [i.e 192.168.2.20 but each one will be different].