Multiple NIC's and subnetting

virgomistrust

Multiple NIC's and subnetting

Post by virgomistrust »

Ok, so I'm a newbie to this, coming from a nOwl coax system installed 9 years ago when I built my retirement home. At the time I used the COAX cable provided and was blissfully ignorant of the potential I was missing with my choice. In fairness to my ignorance, IP camera systems then were not as readily available as today. So as I read about the capability of BI several questions arise in my mind that perhaps can be touched upon here!

1) is there intelligence in the cameras that offload some of the work from the BI software that are meaningful and cost effective. Example - a license plate reader might be helpful but those cameras are cost prohibitive.

2) It seems that a M.2 drive a SATA3 SSD and a 8TB spinning HD are a good baseline to start with. I've read and watched several videos about hardware and optimizations but have found little mention of the resource load on the LAN!

3) So is subletting - port bonding in the switch- and something like a Inter Pro/1000 4 port NIC worth the time and trouble - or money spent in the wrong direction?

My goals are to have a 8 to 12 camera system with 24/7 storage with a 30 to 45 day retention policy. I would also like to access this thru some vpn portal with my Android phone or perhaps a laptop. One problem I have is my location which is NOT bandwidth favorable - rural DSL :(

The notification to the Smartphone would be a welcome addition - something with all the false positives I get now must remain unused!

Any suggestions are welcome and appreciated.
TimG

Re: Multiple NIC's and subnetting

Post by TimG »

A complicated email to respond to, but let's try:

1. BI5 has ALPR integrated (subscription ?) which I assume works with a normal camera pointing where you need to read number plates. Obviously the right camera/ resolution/ field of view and lighting is required.