New Iris 5 Setup

Jerami1981

New Iris 5 Setup

Post by Jerami1981 »

Hello all. I am new to BI. I have switched over from Ubiquiti NVR software. I am excited to see what BI has to offer, but could use some input/clarification on some initial set up questions.

BI is installed on a Server 2019 vm, on server 2019. Basic hardware specs for the vm are 15gb system memory. 30gb RAM disk. OS is running on nvme. I have dedicated 24 threads for cpu.

My set up on Ubiquiti was record 30 seconds before and after an event/trigger. This essentially meant that it was recording full time, but not saving anything unless there was a trigger. To avoid disk wear, it recorded to a RamDisk constantly, and then when an event happened, it saved that video with the pre and post 30 seconds as well, to a nas. I have looked at the settings under Clip and Archiving. My settings currently are New record to the RamDisk, with a 10gb limit. No day limit. Move to Stored. Stored has a 5 TB limit, no day limit, and points to the NAS. On my camera I’m testing with, I have a 30 pre trigger video buffer, but see no signs of post, which I can live without if it doesn’t exist. I can post pics of any settings pages if that would help.

So does this sound like it will accomplish the same thing as the system I’m coming from or am I misunderstanding the flow here? Thanks for any guidance/clarification any can offer.
Matts1984

Re: New Iris 5 Setup

Post by Matts1984 »

To the best of my knowledge, you're the first person to mention RAM disks here. Pretty interesting - I'm not really seeing an option for post triggers either unless maybe you're able to do the motion sensing with the cameras themselves. But as you said, you can probably live without the extra post-trigger especially if your triggers are set appropriately. No need to record nothing.