Multiple Ethernet Adapters - IP not staying

WeidnerJ

Multiple Ethernet Adapters - IP not staying

Post by WeidnerJ »

I have a VM which created a virtual IP address. BI seems to default to that constantly instead of the physical NIC, even when I check bind to the physical adapter. Means that I can't use any remote clients since I had to port map through my router/firewall.

Anyone else seeing this issue?
Matts1984

Re: Multiple Ethernet Adapters - IP not staying

Post by Matts1984 »

I'm running mine in a VM (on ESXi 6.5) but I'm not sure I'm following what you're trying to do - also, I'm not an expert VMware admin.

My physical ESX host has two NICs, teamed together, using one IP address (lets call it 10.0.0.250). I then have my Windows guest running on the host with a virtual NIC and IP address 10.0.0.251. My firewall has it's external address and forwards traffic on port #### to 10.0.0.251 (optionally with or without a port translation as well).

Does this scenario not work for you? I'm not sure why a physical vs virtual NIC should matter?
Blue Iris 5.8.8.x | Server 2022 VM | Xeon X5650 @ 2.67GHz - 12 Cores | 12GB RAM | 7TB RAID | Sophos UTM WAF | 4x SV3C 5MP Bullet A | 1x SV3C 5MP PTZ HX | 1x SV3C 5MP Bullet HX | 1x SV3C 5MP Dome HX | 2x Amcrest 5MP Bullet
WeidnerJ

Post by WeidnerJ »

Matts1984 wrote: Thu Jun 18, 2020 12:06 pm I'm running mine in a VM (on ESXi 6.5) but I'm not sure I'm following what you're trying to do - also, I'm not an expert VMware admin.

My physical ESX host has two NICs, teamed together, using one IP address (lets call it 10.0.0.250). I then have my Windows guest running on the host with a virtual NIC and IP address 10.0.0.251. My firewall has it's external address and forwards traffic on port #### to 10.0.0.251 (optionally with or without a port translation as well).

Does this scenario not work for you? I'm not sure why a physical vs virtual NIC should matter?