CPU overload

rogervanhoven
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:08 am

CPU overload

Post by rogervanhoven » Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:20 am

Hello,

I have quiet a big installation (I thinK),

Intel Core i9-7920X CPU 2.90 GHZ
64 GB RAM
Geforce RTX 208
6x 8TB disk to record

I have 35 camera! and want to expand :)

My problem is i have a CPU load of 60 to 70 procent....

I already tried:
- direct to disk
- no antivirus
- limit decoding

Even when i stop recording al my cameras, profile inactive, and then close the BlueIris screen, i have a CPU load for blue iris of 20%

Any Ideaas?

I put som screenshots

Thanx
Attachments
CPUload2.jpg
CPUload2.jpg (167.34 KiB) Viewed 3755 times
stats.JPG
stats.JPG (58.61 KiB) Viewed 3755 times
MikeBwca
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: CPU overload

Post by MikeBwca » Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:53 am

That is an impressive system.
Also, 35 4mp cameras! All at 15fps?
Looks like your using Nvidia NVDEC Hardware decode?

Did you mean a high GPU percent? It's 79%. Because the cpu is only 19%.
20% isn't bad. It's still streaming to BI.

One thing to check is the 'Limit live preview' fps in the BI settings 'Camera' tab. This does not effect recording, only the fps of each camera when the console is open. 10-15 acceptable. You can try 5 just to see how it effects cpu/gpu.
Opps! You already tried this!

If your processor has Quick Sync, try switching your camera to 'Intel'. The GPU should drop dramatically.

One tip: Set all your cameras 'Hardware accelerated decode' to 'Default'. Then, you only need to change the setting once in BI settings 'Camera' tab to to switch. And, you can always specify a cameras 'special' needs in the cameras settings, if need be.

I'm planning a new system, and will also be getting the GeForce GTX 2080. But, I'm planning on the Hybrid that has build in liquid cooling and radiator. The benchmarks on it are impressive.
Matts1984
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: CPU overload

Post by Matts1984 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 12:04 pm

You could also try configuring the substreams of your cameras. It should lower your processing quite a bit while still maintaining the same quality recordings.
ctfjr
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:43 pm

Re: CPU overload

Post by ctfjr » Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:40 pm

Matts1984 wrote:
Mon Jun 29, 2020 12:04 pm
You could also try configuring the substreams of your cameras. It should lower your processing quite a bit while still maintaining the same quality recordings.

This ^^^

easy to implement and dropped my cpu usage by over 50%
User avatar
broachoski
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 4:27 am
Location: Texas

Re: CPU overload

Post by broachoski » Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:44 pm

Sub streams are the way to go with BI now that the bugs are out. I run an i7-4790, 22 cameras at 15fps, no hardware acceleration, averaging 16-18% CPU usage.
pathflyer
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:59 pm

Re: CPU overload

Post by pathflyer » Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:01 pm

Good Afternoon!

I have been using BI at my automotive garage for about 3 years now.
I was using a VM on my HP Proliant server until recently because the processor was always maxed out.
Last week I decided to build a replacement PC that is a standalone, dedicated for the BI software only.
Here is what I built.

Intel Core i9 10900K 3.7GHZ Unlocked (I have a liquid cooler installed)
2x32GBytes DDR4 Memory (totaling 64 Gbytes)
Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 w/ 8 GBytes
The hard drives are 2 Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMeM.2 Solid State drives running in a raid 1 (mirror)

I am going to purchase some new regular hard drives and dedicate the cameras to them soon.

I loaded BI and reloaded my configuration and this machine runs at almost 100%!
I have 16 cameras that are 4 or 8MP recording on motion only.
I must have something setup or configured wrong.
Attachments
20200729_114501.jpg
20200729_114501.jpg (237.03 KiB) Viewed 2797 times
20200729_114456.jpg
20200729_114456.jpg (222.73 KiB) Viewed 2797 times
20200729_114429.jpg
20200729_114429.jpg (252.86 KiB) Viewed 2797 times
pathflyer
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:59 pm

Re: CPU overload

Post by pathflyer » Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:02 pm

Someone please approve my posts!

Here are 2 more photos.

ANY suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!!

Last night after doing some extensive reading and consulting with my good friend Google.
I made some changes and got the processor down to about 30%
Setting the FPS to 15 for all of my cameras was the biggest part of the puzzle.

I followed these tips also
https://ipcamtalk.com/wiki/optimizing-b ... cpu-usage/

Couple questions..
I don't know how to enable GPU processing. The PC has the ability to do it.. but is there a way to make BI use it?
I have the hardware accelerated decoding set as Intel. There are several more options available to me.. Is one better than the other.
The main settings menu I have Intel selected. Will this force all of the cameras to use it? I also went into each camera and selected Intel also.
Is this overkill or a requirement.

Thanks in advance!
Attachments
20200729_114545.jpg
20200729_114545.jpg (48.36 KiB) Viewed 2795 times
20200729_114516.jpg
20200729_114516.jpg (40.2 KiB) Viewed 2795 times
Last edited by pathflyer on Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Matts1984
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: CPU overload

Post by Matts1984 » Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:05 pm

So the biggest win I can think of based on what I see is configuring any cameras that support it to use their Substream. This will have an incredible performance boost on your system while still maintaining your recording quality. Your network load will go up (a little) but nothing of any concern. This could literally halve your CPU usage. Your cameras then, in the console (when window not active) and for purposes of motion detection will utilize a lower quality substream - which TBH is actually not that bad when viewing it - and your recordings, or anytime you make a camera 'Active' for viewing, it will immediately jump to the mainsteam. This really really is your best option (yes I said really twice).

I would also recommend tweaking your "Keyframes" (sometimes called i-frames) on each of your cameras if possible. This is a setting in the camera GUI itself, not BI, that simply serves to optimize BI and recording alerts. I'm not positive if this will have a CPU difference but it is still a recommend configuration in the admin guide. Ideally your "Keys" should display as "1.00". At least for me, this meant setting the Keyframe setting in my cameras as the same value of the FPS. It's basically telling the camera to send a Keyframe once every X number of frames... which translates to 1.00 per second.

The decode options can be found in BI Settings -> Cameras -> Hardware Accelerated Decode. I do not have experience in tweaking some of the settings you're capable of doing so I can't give advice BUT it shouldn't hurt to try some of the options and see which results in the best performance. Setting the option in BI settings should be a 'global setting' and anything set in the cameras individually would just be to override a property. Typing that out - I'm not sure but perhaps this gives you the option to load some of the cameras to the GPU and others to Intel, thus spreading the load. Not sure, definitely some things to play with.
mpowers1984
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 5:11 pm

Re: CPU overload

Post by mpowers1984 » Mon Sep 07, 2020 5:14 pm

broachoski wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:44 pm
Sub streams are the way to go with BI now that the bugs are out. I run an i7-4790, 22 cameras at 15fps, no hardware acceleration, averaging 16-18% CPU usage.
What resolution are your cameras? I have 16 - 8mp cameras and a new Intel Core i9-9900K processor and was having issues with my setup. The recording are very choppy.
Last edited by mpowers1984 on Mon Sep 07, 2020 5:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
miles267
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 3:38 pm

Re: CPU overload

Post by miles267 » Wed Sep 09, 2020 2:44 am

broachoski wrote:Sub streams are the way to go with BI now that the bugs are out. I run an i7-4790, 22 cameras at 15fps, no hardware acceleration, averaging 16-18% CPU usage.
How did you get it to work? I went from 8 1080P cameras with CPU at 30%; after enabling sub streams my CPU jumped over 80%.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Post Reply