Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

spammenotinoz
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:44 am

Re: Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

Post by spammenotinoz » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:36 am

berthiaumej wrote:
Thu Aug 08, 2019 1:12 am
Does anyone know if it would be worth my while to upgrade to BI5? Or are the Reolink cameras just trash. I saw Glenn's comment that he shelfed his.... :-(
JB
Worth upgrading, but won't reduce your CPU usage.
Honestly, in your case it's more that BI is targeted\optimised for Intel and\or Nvidia users, all the decoding and encoding will be using the CPU. (Same boat as most H.265 users)
If you are trying to use a decent frame rate and\or high resolutions, then the CPU just won't be up for the task.

We could blame BI, but I can't think of any alternatives with your hardware as most alternatives either use NVIDIA GPU or Intel CPU's with Quicksync.

Consider investing $200-$300 in a decent spec refurb i5 from eBay. 4gb RAM is heaps. Spinning disk is also fine, if it is 7200rpm or higher.
Getting a dedicated GPU for BI is overkill, unless you CAM's are H.265, as BI can't yet decode these with Intel Quicksyc, so need to use CPU or NVIDIA GPU if that is required.
PS: Last time I used a Reolink you could disable\turn off most of the discovery crap.

carbonatom13
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:45 pm

Re: Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

Post by carbonatom13 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:00 am

I'm pretty new to BI and only have 2 Reolink cameras (1 Pro 1 and 1 4MP outdoor). They seem to be somewhat more taxing on my computer than anticipated given that I purchased a i7-6700 from recommendations on this forum.

I'm shopping around some of the other big name camera companies and waiting for a sale to test out some other cameras.

With just the 2 reolinks, my CPU usage is at like ~20% most of the time.

HeneryH
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

Post by HeneryH » Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:12 pm

@carbonatom13, what FPS are you running your cameras at?

spammenotinoz
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:44 am

Re: Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

Post by spammenotinoz » Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:01 am

carbonatom13 wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:00 am
I'm pretty new to BI and only have 2 Reolink cameras (1 Pro 1 and 1 4MP outdoor). They seem to be somewhat more taxing on my computer than anticipated given that I purchased a i7-6700 from recommendations on this forum.

I'm shopping around some of the other big name camera companies and waiting for a sale to test out some other cameras.

With just the 2 reolinks, my CPU usage is at like ~20% most of the time.
Hi if you are running a frame rate of 25fps or higher, 20% would be quite normal.
No need to run this higher frame rate.

CPU usage is a misleading metric. Modern CPU's are designed to lower the clock speeds (save power) and run at higher utilisation.
Your CPU won't be running boost and will have tons of head-room. Opening task manager can spike to 100%, but your CPU won't be maxed out.
One of my builds also uses an i7-6700 with no hardware decode. CPU uses hardly any power, but when I remote view with maximum quality, sure the CPU gets a workout, but that is why I have it.

Tomstk
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 3:18 am

Re: Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

Post by Tomstk » Thu Dec 05, 2019 3:29 am

I currently am running 4 reolink RLC-410 5 MP cams out of 12 and have no problems at all. In fact it works as good as the rest I have on there. And I am running BI 4. Must be something wrong with your software or your system. For me I think reolink is one of the best ip cameras I've tried.

User avatar
TimG
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

Post by TimG » Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:56 pm

I'm pretty new to BI and only have 2 Reolink cameras (1 Pro 1 and 1 4MP outdoor). They seem to be somewhat more taxing on my computer than anticipated given that I purchased a i7-6700 from recommendations on this forum.
Hi carbonatom13,

Have you done the usual direct to disc/ drop the framerate yet ? and is it a licensed copy of BI ? Even my old AMD doesn't usually use more than 10% cpu for BI5, and there are three 1080 cameras on that, as well as Homeseer, and all the tv cards and multiple media servers.
Blue Iris v5.0.6.10 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | FX-8350 AMD CPU, 32GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD| Homeseer HS3 Pro | TVMosaic | Emby | DVBViewer |

Silverridge
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:06 am

Re: Reeolink Cameras Bringing BI to it's Knees :-(

Post by Silverridge » Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:07 am

I'm using BI5 and reolink e1 pro among others and it's working great.
I've got 5 cameras and BI5 running on a i3 nuc with 4gb ram (win7) and a cpu load around 15-20%

Post Reply