H265 issue

Post Reply
tlex
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:23 pm

H265 issue

Post by tlex » Wed Jul 31, 2019 7:28 pm

I do have a Escam PVR-002 PVR camera.
It support H264/h265/h265+.

In BI, I can only see the stream if my camera is set to use h264.
I tried with VLC player and both h264 and h265 are working.

Any idea how I could make BI to work with h265 ?

Thanks !

HeneryH
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: H265 issue

Post by HeneryH » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:35 pm

You can use H265 but not with hardware acceleration.

It is a trade-off between disk storage and processing power.

Going with H265 gets you more hours of storage per gb of disk but at the cost of CPU load (both because 265 takes more but also the lack of acceleration).

I chose to go with H265 since my computer had plenty of horsepower to allow me to skip acceleration.

tlex
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:23 pm

Re: H265 issue

Post by tlex » Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:07 pm

Well.. I would like to but the image is not showing up in BI when I set the camera in h265... only VLC sees it.

HeneryH
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: H265 issue

Post by HeneryH » Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:49 pm

Do you have "Hardware accelerated Decode" set to "No" on the camera's video settings?

User avatar
TimG
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am

Re: H265 issue

Post by TimG » Sat Aug 03, 2019 9:11 am

Yup, H265 works here, but loads up the cpu. Since the PC is running Emby, TVMosaic, Homeseer etc, I prefer to keep the BI CPU usage as low as possible. My cameras are all set to H264.
Blue Iris v5.0.4.5 | Dahua 5231, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | FX-8350 AMD CPU, 32GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD| Homeseer HS3 Pro | TVMosaic | Emby | DVBViewer |

spammenotinoz
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:44 am

Re: H265 issue

Post by spammenotinoz » Tue Aug 06, 2019 10:26 pm

TimG wrote:
Sat Aug 03, 2019 9:11 am
Yup, H265 works here, but loads up the cpu. Since the PC is running Emby, TVMosaic, Homeseer etc, I prefer to keep the BI CPU usage as low as possible. My cameras are all set to H264.
Tim do you know if H265 Quicksync support is on the roadmap?

HeneryH
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: H265 issue

Post by HeneryH » Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:03 am

I'm not Tim but a recent minor release of BI5 noted a new library of some sort that the author stated "might help" with H265 acceleration.

That type of loose statement that it 'might' help is not too comforting to me.

spammenotinoz
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:44 am

Re: H265 issue

Post by spammenotinoz » Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:30 am

HeneryH wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:03 am
I'm not Tim but a recent minor release of BI5 noted a new library of some sort that the author stated "might help" with H265 acceleration.

That type of loose statement that it 'might' help is not too comforting to me.
I read that as applying to NVIDIA GPU acceleration for H265 My BI device doesn't have an NVIDIA GPU.
Option to chose your own decoder engine would be handy for those that know what they are doing, but a potential support nightmare.

HeneryH
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: H265 issue

Post by HeneryH » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:08 pm

It was referring to Intel QuickSync
The latest version of the Intel MFX library (2019R1) is now being used. This update was
made in an attempt to bring stability to systems experiencing memory leaks with some
versions of the Intel drivers, and to possibly offer H.265 decoding and (eventually) hardware
encoding using Intel QuickSync.

Post Reply