New camera setup

MattNZ

New camera setup

Post by MattNZ »

Hi there,

This is my first posting here and I want to introduce myself a bit before I start.
I'm Matthias, a German in New Zealand. I have been using Blue Iris since about 2017. So it's not entirely new to me, but there is definitely room for improvement.

Back then, I had a camera setup of 4 cams (3x2MP, 1x8MP) connected to a HP Microserver. The whole thing was working reasonably well.
Two years ago I moved house. I have been busy with lots of other stuff and the cams where sitting in my basement doing nothing. Recently my garage got burgled, my truck broken into and a bunch of expensive stuff went missing.
So I decided to reactivate my cams. Sometimes a friendly reminder is all what's needed.

A lot has changed since 2017 in terms of cameras. So I would appreciate getting some opinions regarding my planned setup.

Since the new place is quite different from my previous home, I will need some more cameras.
My plan foresees a total of 10 (maybe 12) cams throughout the property. There will be an Intel I7-9700 as a server with Windows 10 (maybe Windows Server 2019 - not too sure yet) and BI5 installed.
At the moment I have put my old setup in place as a temporary solution. But it's time to retire the 2MP cams and the Microserver (Xeon E3-1270 V2, 8GB) as well. The poor thing won't be up to the task with the number of Megapixel I intend to throw at it.
Initially I was thinking about using 8MP cameras but have meanwhile decided for 6MP for two reasons:
#1 10-12 8MP cameras would potentially push even an I7-9700 to it's limits or beyond.
#2 With one exception, the distance camera to target is quite short (less than 10m)
So I believe, 6MP should be just fine.

Actually I intended to use 6MP Hikvision POE cameras (DS-2CD2063G0-I).
But then I came across the Dahua IPC-HFW4631F-ZSA: 6MP, varifocal 2.7-13.5mm and even cheaper (too good to be true???) than the monofocal Hikvision.