Deepstack vs Camera AI Person Detection

8dikgiZU6knron

Post by 8dikgiZU6knron »

I'm looking at a few newer cameras and many now come with built in "AI Person Detection". If Blue Iris is configured with Deepstack, is this camera feature even useful or is it just redundant ?
--
New to BlueIris
Looking for cameras that can withstand Canadian winters
IAmATeaf

Re: Deepstack vs Camera AI Person Detection

Post by IAmATeaf »

It can be more reliable it it does depend on your location, lighting at night and field of view.

I tried using deepstack a while back and it worked perfectly well during the day but during the night it would miss events.

Since then I’ve replaced my driveway cams which now have IVS functionality and they have to date been 100% with no missed events.

In fact all of cams now trigger BI using ONVIF and only my line cams make use of BI motion detection.
8dikgiZU6knron

Post by 8dikgiZU6knron »

Thanks for the reply IAmATeaf !

As I'm new to BI I want to make sure I understand this correctly...
You're new cameras with Intelligent Video Surveillance are still in Blue Iris but NOT using Deepstack?

How are you getting the alert to Blue Iris so that it can do it's magic?
I've attached a pic of the MOTION SETTINGS tab for the camera, is this how it happens?

PS I'm surprised the camera's built-in IVS is more accurate than Deepstack.
Attachments
enable-motion-sensor-blueiris.png
enable-motion-sensor-blueiris.png (68.46 KiB) Viewed 7605 times
--
New to BlueIris
IAmATeaf

Post by IAmATeaf »

I’m using ONVIF in the cams to externally trigger BI, cams set to trigger via ONVIF I have BI motion detection disabled.
8dikgiZU6knron

Post by 8dikgiZU6knron »

Thanks for the clarification. I'll have to learn a bit more about BI and ONVIF before asking any more. I agree that pixel based motion detection is bad (thinks a shadow is motion) but I wasn't clear if BI could use the built-in camera object detection. Sounds like Yes - It can.
--
New to BlueIris
Yffud