Page 1 of 1

Android App - Failing to connect

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:42 am
by darant1979
Hi All,

I have recently install Bi5 PC server and the Android app... The Android app will not connect stating "Unable to reach server" even though the browser can..

I have tried the web server tool and all the checks come back as OK.

I have checked the Firewall although this isn't blocking as I can browse to the Bi5 server..

All help or experience appreciated :)

Daran

Re: Android App - Failing to connect

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:27 pm
by TimG
Hi Daran,

Assuming you are on wifi on the same network, have you set up your LAN IP and port in the android app ? I tend to keep my Windows server on a static ip to stop it moving around. Have you set up a mobile user in BI5 and used the same user and password in the android app too ?

Re: Android App - Failing to connect

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:33 pm
by darant1979
Hi Tim.

Yes. I can browse to the server via port 8181 but the app won't work. I've tried another Remote app and that seems to connect but won't run. That app gives corrupt server data errors.

In the Bi5 logs, I can see the IP of my phone in the connections tab but that's it.

I've tried with the FW off, same thing.

Daran

Re: Android App - Failing to connect

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:09 am
by MikeBwca
Check the Webserver Advanced section. Check if you've been banned for whatever reason. This has happened to me a few times.

Also, I've had a recurring issue (with V4) that if I'm on LTE, it can take several times to 20+ attempts to connect. I think it's Cricket doing something. Havn't been able to figure it out.

Re: Android App - Failing to connect

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:25 pm
by darant1979
I have this working, I trialed another CCTV package a few days ago and the ports I was using had been assigned to that app so caused a conflict..

Re: Android App - Failing to connect

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:16 pm
by TimG
Yes, that would explain it ! :lol:

Sometime ago, I noticed addresses in China and Russia attempting to log in to BI4. I have now closed all ports, and use OpenVPN for remote access. No more naughty people in my logs :D