Reset PTZ brightness setting back to default/unspecified

Post Reply
lasttrainlonggone
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:09 am

Reset PTZ brightness setting back to default/unspecified

Post by lasttrainlonggone » Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:11 am

Does anyone know how to reset the PTZ brightness setting back to 'unspecified' so the camera manages it automatically? I'd been clicking on a few of the values to test it out and now want it to go back to being managed by the camera. Seems I can't un-select it and am now stuck with a fixed value.
Image

MikeBwca
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Reset PTZ brightness setting back to default/unspecified

Post by MikeBwca » Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:10 pm

Had the same issue. Not possible in BI.

You''ll need to go into the cameras interface using a browser. There should be a 'default' or 'reset to default' button somewhere. Make a note of the default settings for Mode/Brightness/Contrast/Hue... and the others, so you can set them in BI.

In several cameras I've gone into the cameras 'Schedule tab, and clicking the 'Event Schedule', set a night time and a morning time, to set the brightness and contrast.

lasttrainlonggone
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:09 am

Re: Reset PTZ brightness setting back to default/unspecified

Post by lasttrainlonggone » Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:17 pm

Many thanks for the response.

I've gone to the camera's manufaturer web front end and clicked everything to default. BI still shows '15' as selected for brightness which I assume is being overridden. Not sure if this '15' setting would be sent back to the camera next time I open the application or whenever I make another PTZ change from the app.

FWIW I had a look around to see if I could edit any config files manually to get around this GUI restriction. Doesn't seem to be possible; even the exported .reg settings file is encoded in some unknown way. Defo looks to be one to go on the enhancement request list for BI.

MikeBwca
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Reset PTZ brightness setting back to default/unspecified

Post by MikeBwca » Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:20 pm

Sorry about the confusion. I rechecked, and here's the scoop...

If you change the brightness/contrast in BI, the cameras gui settings will change to reflect it.

However, if you change the brightness/contrast settings in the cameras gui, they will not change in BI. Why? Because the cameras gui does not communicate with BI. Whereas, BI communicates to the camera.

What I've done is to reset the settings in the cameras gui, & make a note of them. Then, in BI, change the settings & watch the cameras gui change to to find the one that reflects closest to the default settings.

Then, in BI, I've set for each camera an 'Event Schedule' to change the brightness/contrast on a relative time to Sunrise & Sunset. And, I've checked the 'Search-Back at startup/reset', so the settings will be set properly even when the camera is started/reset.
Works very well, and the Sunrise/Sunset times will automatically change throughout the year. Just remember to set your location long/lat in the BI options Schedule tab.

lasttrainlonggone
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:09 am

Re: Reset PTZ brightness setting back to default/unspecified

Post by lasttrainlonggone » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:00 pm

Thanks for the info - that makes a lot of sense.

It seems that brightness 15 in BI is a bit below the middle setting on my camera. As 15 is as high as BI goes it's always recording a bit darker than it should be. I think for the moment the setting on the camera is persisting but I'm sure that BI will over write this with the 15 setting at some point.

If I find a way to get BI to forget this 15 setting then I'll update this thread. Using a different Event as you say is probably a way to do this but seems like a nonsense to having to resort to workarounds for something like this.

Post Reply