Substream - BI is not recording in HD but in Stream! Why?

Post Reply
pauld
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 11:12 pm

Substream - BI is not recording in HD but in Stream! Why?

Post by pauld » Tue Jun 15, 2021 3:23 am

HI, I added a substream to all my cameras but now I noticed that all are recording in the substream mode and NOT the HD mode! ( I thought the recordings is suppose to record in HD be default or am I wrong? )

I did enable the " record duel streams if available " is this why ? is so where do I tell Bi that I want to see the HD version when I click file in icon window?

PS: I do see both streams in the general tab and there respective fps and that is working fine ALSO when I click on the reduced fps live preview window it maximizes and 1 sec later it shows HD version ( which means that's working as intended too )

BI version 5.3.7.12
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Substream - BI is not recording in HD but in Stream! Why?

Post by TimG » Fri Jun 18, 2021 6:25 pm

I thought the recordings is suppose to record in HD be default or am I wrong?
That sounds right. Could you have the main stream swapped over with the sub-stream in settings ?
BI5 v54904 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
MrMark
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 4:23 pm

Re: Substream - BI is not recording in HD but in Stream! Why?

Post by MrMark » Wed Jul 07, 2021 2:22 pm

pauld wrote: Tue Jun 15, 2021 3:23 am HI, I added a substream to all my cameras but now I noticed that all are recording in the substream mode and NOT the HD mode! ( I thought the recordings is suppose to record in HD be default or am I wrong? )
I'm seeing this same behavior, but with only one of my cameras. Did you ever figure it out?
InTheAir17
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Substream - BI is not recording in HD but in Stream! Why?

Post by InTheAir17 » Wed Jul 07, 2021 5:31 pm

I'm experiencing this as well, but on all the cameras. I'm on the most current version 5.4.9.5 but it happened on 5.4.9.4 as well.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Home x64 | 8GB RAM | i7-4770S 2.8 GHz | Hikvision 9x4MP | Hikvision Doorbell | Dahua 2MP LPR | 120GB Intel SSD OS and Apps| 6TB Storage
IAmATeaf
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:48 pm

Re: Substream - BI is not recording in HD but in Stream! Why?

Post by IAmATeaf » Wed Jul 07, 2021 7:57 pm

This is how the later releases of BI work isn’t it? I’m sure I read that it would record the substream until the cam is triggered/alert raised and then it would switch to recording the main stream until the trigger event passed.
Post Reply