Camera do not trigger

Post Reply
Bhojvang
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:15 pm

Camera do not trigger

Post by Bhojvang » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:39 pm

Hi all

I am totally new to Blueiris.
I am a Ubiquiti fan and have Ubiquiti network, WiFi and camera and I have always loved the way to control it, but after all the stories about they got hacked I decided to disable all remote access and now I am not able to use the app on my phone anymore, so I decided to give BI a try, without knowing if it will work with Ubiquiti I bought a BI licens and set up a VM on my server.

So here is what I got.

8 Ubiquiti camera running through UDM pro, My BI is running on a VM with 16GB Ram and 4vcpu, my cpu doesn’t support Quick Sync and I don’t have any special GPU on it but my CPU is running around 25-30% with 8 cameras main and sub stream set up on each camera, I also enabled Deepstack and it is also working, so I think this is okay.

My problem is that all my camera is set up to trigger on motion, but it is only sometimes it’s capturing motion even if I stand in front of camera and jumping around, I have checked my setting many times and can’t see what I am missing?

Could it be that the UDM also record on motion?

Again I am totally new, so please bear with me
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Camera do not trigger

Post by TimG » Sun Apr 11, 2021 8:22 am

My problem is that all my camera is set up to trigger on motion, but it is only sometimes it’s capturing motion even if I stand in front of camera and jumping around, I have checked my setting many times and can’t see what I am missing?
I think you need to set up triggers before you add the complication of DeepStack, although BI5 does allow you to see cancelled Alerts - are there any of your missing triggers in that list ?

You could clone an existing camera, and test the settings that way.
BI5 v54402 x64 | Win10 20H2 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD | Homeseer HSPhone | TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD | Homeseer 4 | Emby | DVBViewer.
Wires
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2021 5:27 pm

Re: Camera do not trigger

Post by Wires » Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:34 pm

I second leaving deepstack out of the picture until you are happy with the triggering. Only thing DS will add is rejecting triggers that didn't match the criterias.

How do you set up your image snapshots? For me I have the trigger images going to one folder, trigger video to another. When the "alert" is real, those images end up in the alert folder.

If you are saving your trigger images to a dedicated folder, then you can filter by that folder to see if it indeed triggered or not. If it's not, you may need to play with the sensitivity settings for the motion detection. For me, the defaults work perfectly fine, but keep in mind approaching a camera straight on may not have enough difference in the video frames to be meet the trigger thresholds.
Post Reply