High CPU Utilization

Post Reply
JVH
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:22 pm
Location: Kansas City, Kansas USA

High CPU Utilization

Post by JVH » Fri Oct 02, 2020 7:41 pm

Hi All,
Having some problems with system pegging at 100% a lot.
I have been reading the forums looking for Ideas.
May just have to build a new system.
Here is what I have:
Intel I7-3770K
8 gb ram
30 TB of disk storage.
GT 630 video card.
Cameras:
12 standard on DS4000 card
30 IP cameras from 1 to 4 mp.

One of the posts said to use sub streams.
Here is the problem.
The IP cameras all have substreams enabled and set to D1 resolution and they are all handling their own motion detection and overlays.
However I don't see it in BI5
BI5streams.jpg
BI5streams.jpg (81.67 KiB) Viewed 884 times
I also notice that there is nothing in the substream parameters
BI5Substream.JPG
BI5Substream.JPG (97.11 KiB) Viewed 884 times
I am not sure what to put in that field.

I would like to offload some processing to the graphics card, but I think this one is too old/small, or I don't know how to do it.

Thanks in advance.
John
User avatar
terk
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: High CPU Utilization

Post by terk » Sat Oct 03, 2020 2:11 am

I had been using a 3rd gen i5 processor for a while with 8 cameras at the time and it was running around 90% CPU most of the time with Direct to disk and using Intel GPU offloading for all the cameras and no AI. I upgraded to an 7th gen i7 and with 15 cameras now it is usually between 20 and 30% CPU. However when I am actively monitoring all of the cameras live or on windy days when many of them are being triggered frequently and activating Deepstack's AI processing it can be in the 90% range still, but it still doesn't seem to miss anything.
IAmATeaf
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:48 pm

Re: High CPU Utilization

Post by IAmATeaf » Sat Oct 03, 2020 9:27 am

You need to work out what the substream URL is and enter it yourself.

Normally the URL will be the same as the main stream but with a digit changed, as to what needs to change, that depends on the camera.
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: High CPU Utilization

Post by TimG » Sat Oct 03, 2020 10:49 am

I agree. Your screenshots show that you are not using sub streams in BI5 so your cpu loading will be high. I had to do a lot of experimentation to get mine working and it is different for each manufacturer. What type of cams are these ?

Also, your i7 cpu may be able to do some acceleration. There is a list somewhere of which Intel cpu can do do what in BI5.

Tim
Blue Iris v5.3.8.5 | Win10 x64 version 20H2 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | Intel i5-3330 CPU, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD | TVMosaic.
Post Reply