Default date overlays not working

Post Reply
tivonut
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:23 pm

Default date overlays not working

Post by tivonut » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:37 pm

I just upgrade to BI5 after running BI4 for several years. All of sudden none of the default date/time overlays are showing on any of my cameras. Stopping BI5 and going to BI4 and same problem. Deleting and adding the camera again does not work. This happened across all 15 of my POE cameras. Overlays are enabled and properly defined but show nothing. Disabling/enable overlays does not fix it. No idea why this suddenly happened. Currently running BI 5.2.6.0. See attached images. Any ideas?
Attachments
over2.jpg
over2.jpg (58.54 KiB) Viewed 5409 times
over1.jpg
over1.jpg (108.2 KiB) Viewed 5409 times
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Default date overlays not working

Post by TimG » Sat Apr 25, 2020 5:16 pm

Hi,

With my cameras using their built in overlays, I would be able to see the date/time overlay while logged in to the camera itself. Your screen shots appear to be from the camera itself, but are showing nothing in the text box, which could mean that this has nothing to do with BI4 or 5. That feed is before BI has had anything to do with it.

Have you had a good look around for font colour and size etc in those camera menu's ? Figure one of them out, then you can sort the rest :shock:
BI5 v54904 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
tivonut
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:23 pm

Re: Default date overlays not working

Post by tivonut » Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:35 pm

These are the default settings, it's been working for years, I'm not using date from the cameras. Today they started working again after I restarted BI, something I've done several times in trying to resolve this. No rhyme or reason. Makes me wary of what else is going on under the hood.
Attachments
over3.jpg
over3.jpg (65.61 KiB) Viewed 5386 times
MikeBwca
Posts: 815
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Default date overlays not working

Post by MikeBwca » Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:43 am

A few suggestions...
- Change the Opacity to see if that resets it to 0. (It might be stuck at 100% and just not telling you.)
- Click the 'Set Color' button and try another color, then set it back to what you had it.
User avatar
reddawg
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:29 am

Re: Default date overlays not working

Post by reddawg » Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:46 am

tivonut wrote: Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:37 pm I just upgrade to BI5 after running BI4 for several years. All of sudden none of the default date/time overlays are showing on any of my cameras. Stopping BI5 and going to BI4 and same problem. Deleting and adding the camera again does not work. This happened across all 15 of my POE cameras. Overlays are enabled and properly defined but show nothing. Disabling/enable overlays does not fix it. No idea why this suddenly happened. Currently running BI 5.2.6.0. See attached images. Any ideas?
If you upgraded from BI4 to BI5, don't switch back and forth between BI4 and BI5. Both BI4 and BI5 share the same settings in the Windows registry. When you upgraded BI4 to BI5 many of the settings were altered to reflect where BI5 is installed. Are you running BI5 as a service or app? If you were running BI4 as a service, hopefully you un-selected the option "Run as a Windows service" in Settings -> Startup before upgrading to BI5. Not doing so will cause problems with BI5.

Hopefully, MikeBwca suggestion will solve your problem with overlays. Once all your upgrade issues have been resolved, make sure you perform a backup of Blue Iris 5 configuration settings in Settings-> About tab by clicking "Export Settings". This creates a backup called "Blue Iris.reg" in C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5. Also, make sure "Auto export" box is checked. This creates a new backup each day from Blue Iris 5. They are named "Backup.reg, Backup2.reg and Backup3.reg".

There is a bug in the BI4 uninstaller that causes many of the settings in BI5 to be deleted. That's why it is important to have a backup of BI5 before uninstalling BI4. You will need to re-import the backup of BI5 settings called "Blue Iris.reg" or "Backup.reg", "Backup2.reg" or "Backup3.reg".
Last edited by reddawg on Mon Apr 27, 2020 12:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Blue Iris v5.3.9.10 | Win10 x64 version 20H2 | Dahua IPC-HFW2100, Amcrest IP2M-841W, Hikvision MINI PT DS-2CD2F52F-IS, Edimax IC-3030iWn | Intel i5-2500 CPU, 8GB Ram, Samsung 860 EVO 512GB SSD, WD Black 1TB HD.
User avatar
hotbrass
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:40 pm

Re: Default date overlays not working

Post by hotbrass » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:42 am

Where are these backup files stored?
User avatar
reddawg
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:29 am

Re: Default date overlays not working

Post by reddawg » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:48 am

hotbrass wrote: Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:42 am Where are these backup files stored?
You will find "Blue Iris.reg", Backup.reg, Backup2.reg, Backup3.reg in the C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5 folder. The "Blue Iris.reg" backup will only be generated if you manually export settings from Blue Iris Settings -> About tab. As long as the "Auto export" box is checked in Blue Iris
Settings -> About tab it will automatically create a backup of Blue Iris settings every day that will be named Backup.reg Backup2.reg and Backup3.reg in a rotation scheme.
Blue Iris v5.3.9.10 | Win10 x64 version 20H2 | Dahua IPC-HFW2100, Amcrest IP2M-841W, Hikvision MINI PT DS-2CD2F52F-IS, Edimax IC-3030iWn | Intel i5-2500 CPU, 8GB Ram, Samsung 860 EVO 512GB SSD, WD Black 1TB HD.
tivonut
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:23 pm

Re: Default date overlays not working

Post by tivonut » Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:48 pm

I've never run BI as a service and I had no plans to go back and forth between them but my upgrade went sideways. Initially everything went perfectly and BI5 was fine. But then I uninstalled BI4 and lost entire config in BI5. I tried to restore the backup config which was corrupt for some reason. So I reinstalled BI4, restored the prior config and BI5 started working again. Then my camera overly problem happend (across all 15 cameras). Then suddenly all the overlays started working again yesterday. The only difference I can see is I shutdown BI5 and logged off as a user, then logged in again and restarted BI5 and it started working again. I had restarted BI5 several times prior trying to get the overlays to work. So I guess the old adage still applies, when in doubt, reboot.
Post Reply