Blue Iris 5 Multi Drive Storage Setup

quickstop

Re: Blue Iris 5 Multi Drive Storage Setup

Post by quickstop »

I am no expert and since you are not receiving replies, I thought I would offer an opinion. Since BI uses the New and Stored folders, you can configure files to move from New folder to Stored folder on any disk you choose. Then there is software to automatically manage your files so you can copy, move, backup from the Stored folder to any disk(s) available to your server including NAS, DAS, or local disks. That is my plan, and if you come up with a better solution, please let me know.
TimG

Post by TimG »

Daisy chaining just means that you keep moving the same files around from drive to drive which can't be a good idea, and it will cause increased wear to all drives.

Has anybody tried software to convert multiple drives into one large pool ? Or is that just called a NAS :!:
Forum Moderator.
Problem ? Ask and we will try to assist, but please check the Help file.
ctfjr

Post by ctfjr »

I did this: https://www.tomshardware.com/news/how-t ... 36783.html
in one of my computers. I should add that I have 2 NAS' running here where everything is backed up to.
TimG

Post by TimG »

Thanks for that ctfjr, looks like it is easy to do with Storage Spaces in Win10, but the OP doesn't mention which OS is being used.

Keeping on the Win10 theme, I also found https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... age-spaces

So, my conclusion is that RAID usually requires identical hard drives, but a "Simple" Storage Space POOL can be made of hard drives of differing capacities. It may not give you RAID data protection, but it will give you a very big Storage drive that can be added to. Hmm :geek:
Forum Moderator.
jefft

Post by jefft »

Interesting; please do post back if you get anything from BI support (not that it's very likely in my experience of them!).