Blue Iris 5 Multi Drive Storage Setup

JVH

Blue Iris 5 Multi Drive Storage Setup

Post by JVH » Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:18 pm

Hi,
I have just recently purchased and setup BI5 as a replacement for an older system where the software is no longer working or updated.
Our system has 40 cameras as a mix of IP and older cameras running on DS-4000 series cards.
We will slowly phase out the old cards as time permits
We have 23TB of storage. 250gb on an SSD for the OS and the rest on several 2-10 TB drives.

I have 100gb allocated on the SSD for the NEW folder
I have the STORED folder on a 2TB drive.
I am not clear as to how to use the other drives to extend my storage time. We like to keep 90 days.
Do we use the AUX positions and daisy change them passing down when they each get full?
AS we are using a large HD chassis we could go to 5 10TB drives for 50TB.

Thanks
quickstop

Re: Blue Iris 5 Multi Drive Storage Setup

Post by quickstop » Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:41 pm

I am no expert and since you are not receiving replies, I thought I would offer an opinion. Since BI uses the New and Stored folders, you can configure files to move from New folder to Stored folder on any disk you choose. Then there is software to automatically manage your files so you can copy, move, backup from the Stored folder to any disk(s) available to your server including NAS, DAS, or local disks. That is my plan, and if you come up with a better solution, please let me know.
TimG

Post by TimG » Sat Mar 21, 2020 12:59 pm

Daisy chaining just means that you keep moving the same files around from drive to drive which can't be a good idea, and it will cause increased wear to all drives.

Has anybody tried software to convert multiple drives into one large pool ? Or is that just called a NAS :!: