'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

User avatar
terk
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by terk » Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:48 am

If you use a compatible intel video card you should see the cpu usage go down when you turn on the intel mode and direct to disk recording

User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by Thixotropic » Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:30 pm

terk wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:48 am
If you use a compatible intel video card you should see the cpu usage go down when you turn on the intel mode and direct to disk recording
Does it have to be an external or add-in card? I'm just using the onboard Intel video hardware so I'm guessing it's probably not compatible.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | Ngrok Tunneling

User avatar
terk
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by terk » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:01 pm

No I'm not aware of an Intel add-on card, however some builtin Intel video isn't capable like the early i7 motherboards what processor do you have? I think the 3rd gen and beyond are generally supported. I'm running 10 2mp cameras, and 1 8mp camera at 15FPS on an i7-7700 at around 9-12% cpu all but 2 of the cameras are recording 24-7. I'm using the Intel video coding, direct to disk, and no overlays. I tried default and the CPU usage was about the same, I haven't tried no.

User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by Thixotropic » Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:13 pm

terk wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:01 pm
what processor do you have?
I have an i7-7700 3.6 GHz.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | Ngrok Tunneling

HeneryH
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by HeneryH » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:45 pm

Image

User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by Thixotropic » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:37 pm

I'm curious to find out how I can tell which settings are usable by my PC.

I can try them one by one and watch the CPU load but that seems a little unscientific (and there are other factors that would be hard to account for).

I have an i7-7700 CPU, but no idea which of these settings it supports. Can anyone explain how I would go about determining this?
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | Ngrok Tunneling

User avatar
TimG
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by TimG » Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:12 pm

Hi Thixotropic,

Your cpu is 7th gen on the table above https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... 0-ghz.html and it has Intel HD Graphics 630, so will do the H264 acceleration; you can try the new H265 modes too. It will reduce cpu loading at the expense of gpu loading, but isn't essential if your cpu is doing OK.

You probably need to update your graphics drivers for it too, else it may not work. Overall it's a bit of a faff, but it can help an overstretched cpu last a bit longer.
Blue Iris v5.2.3.0 | Win10 Pro x64 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, 2 analogue cameras on Euresys Picolo Pro 2 | FX-8350 AMD Piledriver CPU, 32GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD| Homeseer HS3(4) Pro | TVMosaic | Emby | DVBViewer |

User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: 'Intel' Acceleration Working, 'New Intel' Not Working

Post by Thixotropic » Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:53 pm

TimG wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:12 pm
Your cpu is 7th gen on the table above https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... 0-ghz.html and it has Intel HD Graphics 630, so will do the H264 acceleration; you can try the new H265 modes too.
I see selections for "Default", "Intel", "No", "Intel + VPP", "NVIDIA NVDEC", "DXVA2", and "D3D11VA". Which one(s) would be appropriate?

(FWIW, the DVVA2 and D3D11VA settings don't seem to work at all, they just result in a black screen, no video.)

Something else I just noticed- it seems the most recent updates have undone my "Direct to Disk" settings. I set some of my cams back to that and CPU is now back down to around 20 or 22 percent, often lower. This is with 7 cameras running (but not set to continuous recording).
-
image_2020_03_27T16_31_05_556Z.png
image_2020_03_27T16_31_05_556Z.png (15.6 KiB) Viewed 43 times
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | Ngrok Tunneling

Post Reply