absolute beginner advice.

Robinlawrie

absolute beginner advice.

Post by Robinlawrie »

Hi all, and thank you for your patience if i ask obvious questions, and apologies if this isnt the right place for these questions.

I'm currently doing up an old countryside house, and wish to install a self-hosted security camera setup. It looks like i would need 5-6 cameras to cover all approaches to the house. my desire is to use the cameras to record 24/7 but send me alerts when somebody enters the garden, and possibly trigger a verbal warning or turn on lights.

the most important thing for me is to have the most reliable person detection possible (as it is for everyone i expect) We have a dog and i also dont want to be woken at 3AM for no good reason.

That has lead me into a hugely complex world of TPU's, AI models etc etc, and im having a little difficulty parsing the options.

im an utter nerd, very technically proficient with electronics and have built every workstation ive ever owned (3d animator by trade) however the whole AI thing is something ive never looked into until now. happy to learn, but im hoping to get some answers so i head down the right path at least:

so, here goes:

i see people often use BlueIRIS and Frigate, its not clear why, if blueiris can do the object detection using codeproject AI.. is frigate better for detection?

Ive seen the Coral TPU suggested, however ive also read that it limits the AI model size used, and the images it uses for detection are reduced in resolution. this does not seem a recipe for the best detection accuracy possible. its noted as being fast, but i see people talking about 15 ms vs (for example) 200 ms detection times for slower options.. 200ms seems perfectly fast enough unless i am misunderstanding something.. ?!