Internal Hard Drive

General discussion about Blue Iris
wfsteadman

Internal Hard Drive

Post by wfsteadman »

Greetings all,
I have a Dell 9020 Mini Tower with a 1 TB SSD Drive and I am running BI 5. I was thinking about adding an additional Internal Hard Drive and wanted to see if a 2TB spinning at 5400 RPM was fast enough for me to store all of my Blue Iris Video to include, new, alerts and stored. I am new to BI so this might be a simple question but would prefer to get the storage off my C: Drive if possible.

I think my PC has a limitation of a 2TB drive which is based on a bit of research.
Any recommendations for storage would be appreciated.

If this is the wrong place to ask this can you please guide me to the right place.

Thanks in advance
Wally
HeneryH

Re: Internal Hard Drive

Post by HeneryH »

The 2tb limit should be only for old 32b machines.

While SSD for the system drive increases performance ALOT, there is less of an improvement for video recording and playback.

I haven't done the math but you might be able to poll people here who are using HDDs on what they get away with.

I have 5 @ 1.3mp cameras on a 5400rpm disk without any problems.
wfsteadman

Post by wfsteadman »

HeneryH wrote: Wed Jun 30, 2021 6:02 pm The 2tb limit should be only for old 32b machines.

While SSD for the system drive increases performance ALOT, there is less of an improvement for video recording and playback.

I haven't done the math but you might be able to poll people here who are using HDDs on what they get away with.

Thank you Very Much.
MikeBwca

Post by MikeBwca »

If you can do SSD's...

I have two 2-tb SSD's that I use for the BI database.
The performance when reviewing video via the Timeline is amazing. No lag, even when sliding the timeline back and forth (of course cpu goes thru the roof).
HeneryH

Post by HeneryH »

Mercedes AMG are rocket fast too. But $$$$ makes the Kia look better and better.
roadkill401

Post by roadkill401 »