Total Cost Of Running Blue Iris

General discussion about Blue Iris
RussellS

Total Cost Of Running Blue Iris

Post by RussellS »

Hi, new member here just after some information before purchasing Blue Iris.

I have been running iSpy for a few years but without the remote connection options which require a subscription. So to access the system remotely I would Teamviewer into the server and access it that way.
Anyway, I am now looking to upgrade the system to provide 'proper' remote access etc. So to attain this I am evaluating Blue Iris along with my existing knowledge of iSpy.

What I want to know and wasn't really clear on the website is what are the ongoing costs of Blue Iris after the initial purchase. Are there further subscription charges for remote access etc. I know there is a separate charge for the mobile app but I'm referring more to subscription charges so I can compare it to iSpy.

Also if anyone has any comments regarding iSpy Vs Blue Iris I would be very interested to hear them.

Thanks
Matts1984

Re: Total Cost Of Running Blue Iris

Post by Matts1984 »

So technically no, after the first initial purchase of Blue Iris, thats all that is needed. The method to enable remote access can vary (multiple options) but none of them have to require a cost (other than standard internet service). There is an annual license renewal required IF you want access to software updates and support. If you buy the initial license (approx $70) you get the first year covered. You can get any and all updates... normally multiple updates per week... and then at the end of the year you can opt to renew for approx $30 or you can let the license lapse. Blue Iris will still work perfectly fine unless you try to get an update beyond your license term but personally for a whole $30 a year for a product I'm very happy with, it's worth it. I spend way more on a tank of gas.

Hope that all makes sense.