View cameras on a TV

General discussion about Blue Iris
Post Reply
User avatar
bigbillsd
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:55 am

View cameras on a TV

Post by bigbillsd » Sat Feb 27, 2021 6:23 pm

I tried all the web dongles over the years to get my cameras on my TV's and found a very reliable way to see my camera(s) on the big screen. Its not thru Blueiris itself, and am waiting for their Android app to allow install easily on Android TV. Anyway, I have a 2017 Shield device. I use that to watch SageTV and Plex media. I purchased the newest remotes recently as the original ones were extremely painful to use, the volume slide just drove us nuts. But the new shield remotes have an annoying Netfix button that gets pressed enough by mistake that I wanted to fix it.
First I installed the Free Button Mapper app from the android store, did not need to buy the upgrade to make this work for my simple use. Then I installed tiny-cam on the shield. Next I setup the camera over the front door in tiny-cam. After that I setup Button Mapper so when the netflix button is pressed it brings up my Front Door camera in tiny cam. (first i set it up to do nothing instead of going to netflix, but then thought of the camera and redid the settings.

Now, when the doorbell rings I just hit the netflix button and it instantly switches to the front door camera. I have to trying on and off for years to make that work. And this just works!

Tiny Cam would allow me to add any or probably all of them. Just the more you add the smaller size.
S&B:BI 5.3.9.10 W10-20H2,16 Reolink RLC-410-5MP,DELL T-40,E-2224G CPU,24 GB,3 @ WD Blue 6TB HD.
RV:BI 5.3.9.10,W10-20H2,4 Wyzecam v2 RTSP,NUC I-5-8259U CPU,16 GB RAM
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: View cameras on a TV

Post by Thixotropic » Sun Feb 28, 2021 1:32 am

I'm a big fan of tiny cam, it's got a ton of features and is pretty amazing overall.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: View cameras on a TV

Post by TimG » Sun Mar 07, 2021 1:57 pm

4k Fire stick and UI3 here on all tv's, but that doesn't give me the easy button. Nice one.

UI3 does give you the ability to check recordings though.
BI5 v54904 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
User avatar
bigbillsd
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:55 am

Re: View cameras on a TV

Post by bigbillsd » Sun Mar 07, 2021 7:05 pm

Yeah, the Easy button.. ha! I only would use it if someone rings the doorbell and I am not expecting anyone. Can easily bring up U3 on my ipad or phone if I need to look at clips. But I would normally just go back to my PC for that. (door to door sales usually) The guys NOT selling Solar... ROFL.
S&B:BI 5.3.9.10 W10-20H2,16 Reolink RLC-410-5MP,DELL T-40,E-2224G CPU,24 GB,3 @ WD Blue 6TB HD.
RV:BI 5.3.9.10,W10-20H2,4 Wyzecam v2 RTSP,NUC I-5-8259U CPU,16 GB RAM
Post Reply