New user looking for resources

General discussion about Blue Iris
yourpalfranc

New user looking for resources

Post by yourpalfranc »

Hi, I'm new to BI and moving over from ZoneMinder. Where can I find some resources to get started. I searched all around the BI Website for a manual, but couldn't find one.

Thanks, in advance, for your assistance!!
TimG

Re: New user looking for resources

Post by TimG »

Hi, if you have BI5 installed, the manual can be opened by clicking the question mark at the top of the BI5 screen.
Forum Moderator.
Problem ? Ask and we will try to assist, but please check the Help file.
Thixotropic

Post by Thixotropic »

Welcome to the BI forum.

I tested Zoneminder for about a month before deciding it wasn't right for me. It's got a lot of promise but it's a hodge-podge of code and I finally gave up on it. The whole thing really needs to be refactored in php or python.

After testing BI it became clear right away that it was better than Zoneminder. I'm a Linux guy, so it was disappointing to have to drop Zoneminder, but there's really no comparison between them in my opinion.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
yourpalfranc

Post by yourpalfranc »

TimG wrote: Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:03 pm Hi, if you have BI5 installed, the manual can be opened by clicking the question mark at the top of the BI5 screen.
Thank you!! Found it!!
yourpalfranc

Post by yourpalfranc »

Thixotropic wrote: Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:27 pm Welcome to the BI forum.

I tested Zoneminder for about a month before deciding it wasn't right for me. It's got a lot of promise but it's a hodge-podge of code and I finally gave up on it. The whole thing really needs to be refactored in php or python.