Minor Bug Report

General discussion about Blue Iris
Post Reply
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Minor Bug Report

Post by Thixotropic » Sat Jan 02, 2021 6:17 pm

I've noticed a couple of times when I've clicked to install the latest BI upgrade, sometimes a dialog box appears stating, "Connection lost".

When the "Connection lost" dialog box appears, it blocks the next process, which is stopping the BI service.

The "Stopping BI service" notice will sit there indefinitely until someone manually closes the "Connection lost" dialog box behind it. If no one closes the box then the upgrade never occurs.

Soooo.maybe check for the presence of the "Connection lost" dialog box and auto close it if it appears during the upgrade process.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1001
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Minor Bug Report

Post by TimG » Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:07 pm

Are you sure that's a BI5 message ? I've never seen it here, and my internet is a rock solid 360+Mbps :shock:

Running BI5 as a service too.

I think that's one for Ken.
BI5 v54402 x64 | Win10 20H2 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD | Homeseer HSPhone | TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD | Homeseer 4 | Emby | DVBViewer.
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: Minor Bug Report

Post by Thixotropic » Tue Jan 19, 2021 4:20 pm

I caught it and got a screen shot...definitely a BI error. The larger dialog box appears and then the smaller one appears. They'll sit there like that forever or until someone manually clicks the OK button on the larger dialog box.

Maybe Ken could put in a few seconds of delay or disable that dialog trigger or something.
shutdown-error.png
shutdown-error.png (25.24 KiB) Viewed 1302 times
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
IAmATeaf
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:48 pm

Re: Minor Bug Report

Post by IAmATeaf » Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:10 pm

Looks a message from the BI UI when the service is stopped to perform the update.
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: Minor Bug Report

Post by Thixotropic » Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:01 pm

IAmATeaf wrote: Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:10 pm Looks a message from the BI UI when the service is stopped to perform the update.
That's exactly what is it. There's some race condition going on with the updates; every once in a while it stumbles and this happens.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
R4nger
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 7:10 pm

Re: Minor Bug Report

Post by R4nger » Wed Jan 20, 2021 7:11 pm

jhankins
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 6:57 pm

Re: Minor Bug Report

Post by jhankins » Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:55 am

FWIW, this happens for me too. Fairly infrequently (20% of the time?) when upgrading. Pretty sure it breaks the installer and I have to rerun the upgrade.
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: Minor Bug Report

Post by Thixotropic » Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:25 pm

I've not had it break the installer or upgrade, but if I don't catch it then it'll sit there all day *not* recording anything until I see it.

A bug that breaks the entire system like this needs to be fixed.



jhankins wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:55 am FWIW, this happens for me too. Fairly infrequently (20% of the time?) when upgrading. Pretty sure it breaks the installer and I have to rerun the upgrade.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
Post Reply