Page 1 of 1

BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2020 6:48 pm
by aviondubzz
I have just purchased a dedicated pc just for blueiris and recording. I have only added 3 cameras so far and everything is lagging and it says 99% CPU usage. I believe my pc should be more than capable of handling the tasks.
pc.PNG
pc.PNG (8.88 KiB) Viewed 1837 times

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2020 2:04 pm
by Matts1984
Gotcha, yeah 3 cameras shouldn't be hitting it that hard. But there are TONS of settings that can make a big difference. Are the cameras set to do Direct to Disk recording?

Also, can you share a screenshot of your BI "Status-> Cameras" tab? The whole thing including the totals at the bottom (you can obscure IPs if you like but they're probably internal addresses that mean nothing).

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:24 pm
by LyndMc
If you do a Google search for optimize blue iris, there’s a post that suggests setting changes. One I remember had to do with “direct to disc”, deleting overlays in the cameras themselves helps too. There was also something else about encryption. I followed the settings that were recommended and it helped my 3 camera system.

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:03 pm
by Matts1984
Yup! I believe this https://ipcamtalk.com/wiki/optimizing-b ... cpu-usage/ is the one you're referring to. I've made gains following it as well. Just be sure not to make a post arguing it or contradicting the moderator :lol:

But really, if you have any other questions about any of this, we're here to help. I'm currently at 4 cameras (with one more in a box waiting) with an older CPU - though more cores - but it cruises under 10% CPU almost all the time.

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:48 pm
by IAmATeaf
You need to post more info before people can help. So what cams are you running, are you using substreams, what frame rate, the bitrate, encoding used ....

Does your PC have an SSD? And me personally I’d run BI with a min of 12Gb of RAM, I’ve seen other posts where 8Gb hasn’t been enough.

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:04 pm
by shiggins9
aviondubzz wrote: Wed Oct 07, 2020 6:48 pm I have just purchased a dedicated pc just for blueiris and recording. I have only added 3 cameras so far and everything is lagging and it says 99% CPU usage. I believe my pc should be more than capable of handling the tasks.

pc.PNG
Op, did you ever solve your issue? I have been working on a solution and may be on to something.

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:45 pm
by shiggins9
Well op, hopefully you resolved your issue. But in case this is a zombie thread, this is the solution that worked for me.

Solution:
-Limit decoding unless required-OFF on all cameras
-Hardware Acceleration-OFF on all cameras

Re: BI Using near 100% cpu

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 3:00 pm
by Idle0095
You need to follow this info. Trust me it will help you
https://ipcamtalk.com/wiki/optimizing-b ... cpu-usage/