Beginners Question

General discussion about Blue Iris
Post Reply
VideoKilledtheRFstar
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 8:34 am

Beginners Question

Post by VideoKilledtheRFstar » Tue May 12, 2020 8:38 am

This maybe a really silly question. Does the software need to communicate outside of the local LAN to work at all? We have a standalone LAN/WLAN setup and we want to be able to monitor/record video cameras locally, without any connection to the outside world..

Many thanks in advance..

VK
HeneryH
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: Beginners Question

Post by HeneryH » Tue May 12, 2020 12:30 pm

Perhaps during license activation but there is a way around that.

Once running, no.
Matts1984
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Beginners Question

Post by Matts1984 » Tue May 12, 2020 12:52 pm

Correct, it's not NEEDED. But you will probably want some method of getting NTP to keep things in sync and updates are easier with a connection but as noted, it's not required. This is also assuming you don't want to use the AI intelligence features too, again not required at all.
Blue Iris 5.4.9.x | Server 2019 VM | Xeon X5650 @ 2.67GHz - 12 Cores | 12GB RAM | 7TB RAID | Sophos UTM WAF | 3x SV3C 5MP Bullet A | 2x SV3C 3MP Bullet A | 1x SV3C 5MP Bullet HX | 1x SV3C 5MP Dome HX | 2x Amcrest 5MP Bullet
User avatar
hotbrass
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:40 pm

Re: Beginners Question

Post by hotbrass » Tue May 12, 2020 2:42 pm

I have been running my setup offline for about six months and there are issues with updating. The update installation is not reliable when downloaded and installed. They do not always update. The last successful update installation for me was 5.2.6.1. Everything after that would not install. So I had to change all my IP's on my BI5 LAN and connect to my home LAN and the newest installs will install like normal. I am leaving the IP's the same now and just unplugging my BI LAN from my home LAN.

Any suggestions?
Post Reply