Just for fun

For anything else on your mind
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Just for fun

Post by Thixotropic » Fri Jan 01, 2021 3:11 pm

Grabbed up one of these the other day, don't know what I'll do with it yet. Maybe a hardened BI box or a new 10TB porn-storage array. Suggestions welcome.
milbuild-162sm.JPEG
milbuild-162sm.JPEG (41.48 KiB) Viewed 2904 times
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Just for fun

Post by TimG » Sat Jan 02, 2021 10:05 am

I think 10TB may not be enough for a full on porn-storage array. What are the specs so we can help find a use for it ?

I note the picture has "milbuild" in the title. Does that mean it is "hardened" in some way :shock:

Fnarr fnarr,

Tim
BI5 v54904 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: Just for fun

Post by Thixotropic » Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:01 pm

Well, the 10GB would just be for the new stuff, lol.

It's a relatively modest box: an 15-9700K, 32GB RAM, 350W PSU. It's got an expansion dash panel and some anti-tamper/anti-intrusion stuff that's been removed for the moment, but it'll be top-heavy with storage- probably ~20TB by the time it's done.

Another pic of some internals (with all the old drives and crap removed). I think the motherboard is a mostly-standard MSI board with some BIOS add-ons. I love the yellow zinc chromate color in the drive bays.
.
milbuild-186sm.JPEG
milbuild-186sm.JPEG (85.51 KiB) Viewed 2427 times

TimG wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 10:05 am I think 10TB may not be enough for a full on porn-storage array. What are the specs so we can help find a use for it ?

I note the picture has "milbuild" in the title. Does that mean it is "hardened" in some way :shock:
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Just for fun

Post by TimG » Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:11 pm

Don't forget to fit the second NIC

***Ducks***
BI5 v54904 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: Just for fun

Post by Thixotropic » Sun Jan 03, 2021 3:16 pm

I've decided to skip all that "install a NIC" nonsense and just buy a modem. 2400 baud should be all I need.

TimG wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:11 pm Don't forget to fit the second NIC

***Ducks***
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
MikeBwca
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Just for fun

Post by MikeBwca » Wed Jan 06, 2021 3:19 am

My first modem was a 300 baud!
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: Just for fun

Post by Thixotropic » Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:21 pm

MikeBwca wrote: Wed Jan 06, 2021 3:19 am My first modem was a 300 baud!
Heh...my first modem was on an Atari 800. The baud rate was adjustable, all the way down to 1 Baud (from a blistering max of 300).

My buddy and I would sit around downloading stuff (this was ~1985 or so) and sometimes for fun we'd turn the baud rate waaaay down, to the point where we could see the individual characters popping up one-by-one.

The best modem-driven BBS at the time was "FungusLand", what a great place that was.

I still have my entire Atari setup along with a ton of software on 5.25" floppies- boxes and boxes of them.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
MikeBwca
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:39 am

Re: Just for fun

Post by MikeBwca » Fri Jan 08, 2021 11:29 pm

Going to the Way-Back-Before-Time, eh? lol

I still have my Amiga 3000 sitting off to the side. Complete with monitor, floppy drives, and, tape backup system. Been sitting there for years - I should turn it on and play around with it. It's been so long the hard drive is probably seized!
User avatar
TimG
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:45 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK.

Re: Just for fun

Post by TimG » Sat Jan 09, 2021 2:46 pm

Eek, did you remember to remove that old leaky barrel battery ? You won't have an A3000 if you leave it connected :shock: Do a web search for "A3000 barrel battery removal" it will make you cry :(

Maybe I'm a couple of years younger than you guys. My first modem was 14,400 ! I did have my Amiga A1200 many years earlier than that though. Just didn't get into the BBS scene with the really cool cats 8-)
BI5 v54904 x64 | Win10 21H1 | Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, Foscam R2, Ertech 4MP, Neos2, 2 SD cams | BI5:1 i5-3330, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 2 HSPhone, TVMosaic | BI5:2 Ryzen 1800X, 16GB Ram, Multiple SSD and HD, Homeseer 4, Emby, DVBViewer.
User avatar
Thixotropic
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Low-Earth Orbit

Re: Just for fun

Post by Thixotropic » Sun Jan 10, 2021 3:29 am

TimG wrote: Sat Jan 09, 2021 2:46 pm Eek, did you remember to remove that old leaky barrel battery ? You won't have an A3000 if you leave it connected :shock: Do a web search for "A3000 barrel battery removal" it will make you cry :(
The electrolytic caps may be dried out and might catch fire after everything is turned on for a while. Be careful.
Blue Iris 5.x x64 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | 16GB RAM | i7-7700 3.6 GHz | 1TB HDD | 2TB RAID NAS | 9 Cameras | Almost Dual NIC | 2KVA UPS
Post Reply